2019 history graduate student awards

April 22

Welcome

Claudio Saunt | Chair, Department of History

Carl Vipperman Teaching Assistantship Award: presented to outstanding Teaching Assistants.

- ·Matthew Burkhalter, sponsored by Ben Ehlers
- ·Matthew Gordon, sponsored by Steve Soper
- Annelle Brunson, sponsored by Cindy Hahamovitch

History Dept. Award: for the outstanding graduate student in a field other than American History.

Student: Jeffrey Jones Faculty sponsor: Jennifer Palmer

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award:

presented to outstanding graduate assistants from the University.

- · Jonathan Hepworth
- ·Kate Dahlstrand

Sponsored by the Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost.



Department of History Franklin College of Arts and Sciences UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA



Jonathan Hepworth (pictured), won this year's graduate student LunchTime Time Machine

Jason Manthorne Award

Presented to a current graduate student in History who exhibits extraordinary commitment to scholarship, teaching, and the history department's academic and social community.

Student: Jonathan Hepworth Presented by: Jeffrey Jones-M.A. student representative, and Annelle Brunson

LeConte Prize:

Presented to a current master's student for outstanding dedication to the department, its programs, and its student community.

Student: Annelle Brunson Presented by: Jamie Kreiner

Graduate Student Awards, 2019

Thomas Pleasant Vincent Award: to a distinguished undergraduate or graduate student with an interest in Georgia history.

Student: Victoria Do Faculty sponsor: Cindy Hahamovitch

William Jennings Bryan Award: for the best graduate student history paper.

Student: Terrell Orr Faculty sponsor: Stephen Berry

Parks-Heggoy Graduate Faculty Teaching Award: for excellence in graduate student teaching by a faculty member (voted on by the graduate students in History).

Awarded to: Brian Drake Presented by: Bryant Barnes, PhD student representative

Congratulations to our 2018-19 faculty retirees, John Inscoe and Thomas Whigham!

Professor John Inscoe is retiring after many years of service on our graduate faculty. December 2018 Professor Thomas Whigham was also recognized in for his retirement from our graduate faculty.



Congratulations to our 2018 -19 Graduates!

Thomas Hendrickson (M.A.), Jeffrey Jones (M.A.), Alec Kraynak (M.A.), and Derrick Angermeier (Ph.D.)

