GEORGIA 1785

2023 History Graduate Student Awards

The University of Georgia Founders Memorial Garden, April 26

Welcome our new faculty and students

Twenty new graduate students and two new faculty members joined our program.

Go Dawgs!

A second straight National Championship gave us even more reason to celebrate.

Congratulation, graduates!

Christine Combs, Matthew O'Neal, and Sachen Pillay



Awards and Achievements

It's been a banner year for UGA, and not just in the national arena. Our graduate students have racked up honors and achievements on campus, in the community, and abroad. Here are just a few recent accomplishments by our graduate students this term:

Andrew Craig was awarded the UNC Pre-Dissertation Fellowship from the Wilson Special Collections Library at UNC-Chapel Hill.

Maggie Neel, Alex Bowen, and Elyse Elyaman are recipients of the Willson Center Graduate Research Award. Alex Bowen also received the Janelle Padgett Knight Graduate Award, which recognizes the top-ranked recipient of a Willson Center graduate student award.

Nathanael Mickelson was awarded the Chandini Bachman Scholarship for the 2023-2024 academic year.

Students in the HIST 8770 Public History class with James Brooks participated in the 2023 National Council on Public History (NCPH) conference in Atlanta. Students presented in the Poster Exhibition, attended Sessions, and presented the exhibit on Indigenizing Athens that will later be installed at the Historic Athens Welcome Center.

2023 History Graduate Student Awards

Encouragement to Teach Award

Presented to a history graduate student who will teach history at a state college, junior college, or high school.

Louise Milone (nominated by Cindy Hahamovitch)

History Department Award

Presented annually to an outstanding graduate student in a field other than American history. Chris Choe (nominated by Scott Nelson)

LeConte Memorial Prize

Presented annually to a current master's student for outstanding dedication to the department, its programs, and its student community. Sachen Pillay (nominated by Cassia Roth and the Graduate Studies Committee)

Manthorne Memorial Award

This award honors the dedication of beloved UGA graduate and teacher Jason Manthorne by recognizing a current graduate student in the Department of History who exhibits his passion and spirit.

Whitney Priest (nominated by Bryant Barnes)

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Presented annually by the Graduate School and the Center for Teaching and Learning to outstanding teaching assistants. The following students were presented with award certificates by the graduate school. Nominated by the Graduate Studies Committee.

Jared Asser Bryant Barnes Louise Milone

Thomas Pleasant Vincent Sr. Award

Presented annually to a distinguished student of history with a special interest in the history of Georgia.

Cole Wicker (nominated by Cindy Hahamovitch)

Carl Vipperman Teaching Assistant Award

Presented annually by the History Department to outstanding teaching assistants.

Whitney Priest (nominated by Brian Drake)
Jamie Weiss (nominated by Scott Nelson and
Montgomery Wolf)

Rory Oates (nominated by Scott Nelson)



William Jennings Bryan Award

Presented to a graduate student for the best history paper of the year.

Andrew Craig (nominated by Cindy Hahamovitch)

Warner-Fite Award

Presented annually to an outstanding student in American/U.S. history.

Christine Combs (nominated by Cassia Roth)

Parks-Heggoy Teaching Award

Presented for excellence in graduate student teaching by a faculty member.

Joseph Kellner (nominated by graduate students)

Congratulations Graduates!





Chris Combs successfully defended her Master's thesis, "Fruit Pie and the Making of a Queer Archive" on April 10.

Sachen Pillay successfully defended his thesis entitled, "The Sovietization Period: Cold War Propaganda and the Soviet-Cuban Alliance" on April 3.





Matthew O'Neal

Matt O'Neal is graduating with a doctorate this year. He successfully defended his dissertation, "Home and Hell: The Great Migration and the Making of Sundown Towns in Appalachia," on April 14.

Matt recently was awarded the Robert H. Zieger Prize at the biennial Southern Labor Studies Conference for the best unpublished essay in southern labor studies written by a graduate student or early career scholar, journalist, or activist.

