Each year the faculty recognize outstanding history majors for their achievements in historical scholarship.

Awards by student application with faculty recommendation

Most awards are initiated by faculty nominations, but three of them involve a student application process.

Department of History Study Abroad Scholarship 

Any undergraduate history major can fill out an Application for the Study Abroad Scholarship to participate in an official UGA study abroad program. Awarded twice yearly: due October 15 for spring study abroad and February 28 for summer and fall.

  • 2017-2018: Luke Bundrum (Paris), McKenzie Peterson (Rome), Celia Clark (Oxford), Haley Higginbotham (Paris), Sarah Sovoie (D.C./Public History), Madison Immel (D.C./Public History), Sarah Refus (D.C./Public History), Ellie McQuaig (D.C./Public History)
  • 2016-2017: Jessica Brown (D.C./Public History), Kaitlin Doston (D.C./Public History), Alicia Guzman (Innsbruck), Haley Higingbotham (Rome), Jin Kim (D.C./Public History), Langston Leake (D.C./Public History), Meghan Miller (D.C.), Amrish Nair (Verona), Victoria Ramsey (Oxford)
  • 2015-2016: Gil Eplan-Frankel (Nottingham), Cassidy Flood (Paris), Kendall Hallberg (D.C./Public History), Stephen Howard (Oxford), Madeline Neel (Verona)
  • 2014-2015: Rebecca Dotterweich (Freiburg), James C. Thompson (Freiburg), Shreya Singh (D.C.), Caroline Jackson (Oxford), Jordan Richardson (Oxford), Ruth Fisher (D.C.)

History Undergraduate Research Award 

Any undergraduate history major can fill out an Application for the Undergraduate Research Award to help fund research for a HIST 4990 senior seminar research paper, or for travel to present a history paper at a professional conference. Awarded twice yearly: due October 1 for fall 4990s and conferences, and February 28 for spring 4990s and conferences or summer conference travel.

  • 2015-2106: Caroline Jackson, Courtney DeRieux
  • 2014-2015: Blake Rice, Melissa DeVelvis

Summer Program in Public History Scholarship 

 Funding assistance may be provided through the Gregory Summer Public History scholarship. Any history major can fill out an Application for this Public History Scholarship to help defray costs of students enrolled in the Department's Summer Program in Public History in Washington, D.C. Priority deadline: December 10.

  • 2017: Madison Bledsoe
  • 2016: Claire Haley

Awards by faculty nomination

Kay Parker Digital Humanities Award 
Presented annually for an outstanding project in the digital humanities 

  • 2018: Frances Abele, sponsored by Steve Soper
  • 2017: Kaitlin Dotson, sponsored by Steve Soper
  • 2016: Leah Scott, sponsored by Steve Soper

Piper Award 
Presented bi-annually to support study abroad

  • 2018: McKenzie Peterson, sponsored by Tim Cleaveland

Alf Andrew Heggoy Award
Presented annually to an undergraduate for the best senior paper

  • 2018: Eunice Kim, sponsored by Steve Soper

  • 2017: Kailyn LaPorte, sponsored by Cindy Hahamovitch

  • 2016: Anders Yount, sponsored by Montgomery Wolf and Steve Soper

  • 2015: Timothy Whitley, sponsored by Michael Winship

  • 2014: Greyson M. Clark, sponsored by Shane Hamilton

  • 2013: Fraser Livingston, sponsored by Brian Drake

  • previous recipients: Kathryn Clifford (2012), Lisa Camilla Hamilton (2011), Parag G. Patel (2010), Elizabeth Tkacz (2009), Jeremy Holt (2008), Erik Smith (2007), Betsy Beasley (2007), Joseph Baird (2006), Thomas John Carey (2005)

Drew and Dorianne Norwood Award
Presented to a history student to provide support for study abroad

  • 2018: Madison Immel, sponsored by Akela Reason

  • 2017: Jin Kim, sponsored by Steve Soper

  • 2016: Kendall M. Hallberg, sponsored by Shane Hamilton

  • 2014: Anna E. Wilson, sponsored by Steve Soper

Encouragement to Teach Award
Presented to a history graduate student or undergraduate history major who will teach history at a state college, junior college, or high school

  • 2018: Hannah Sharpe, sponsored by Oscar Chamosa

  • 2016: Brian Heredia, sponsored by Montgomery Wolf; Natalie Varkey, sponsored by Jamie Kreiner

  • 2015: Madison Smith, sponsored by Timothy Cleaveland

  • 2014: Michael Ackerman, sponsored by Dr. Kirk Willis

  • 2013: Brad Burzumato, sponsored by Dr. Benjamin Ehlers

  • previous recipients: Monique Campbell (2012), Melissa Cohen (2011)

History Department Award (Undergraduate)
Presented to an outstanding undergraduate in a field other than American history

  • 2018: Mitchell Frye, sponsored by Tim Cleaveland

  • 2017: William Leslie Courtney, sponsored by Jamie Kreiner

  • 2016: Andrew Jarnagin, sponsored by Kevin Jones and Stephen Mihm

  • 2015: Caitlin O'Grady, sponsored by Benjamin Ehlers

  • 2014: Malina C. Harris, sponsored by Pamela Voekel

  • 2013: Rachel Pérez, sponsored by Reinaldo Román

  • previous recipients: Kayci Schoon (2012), Kelsey A. Shearman (2011), Casondra R. Turner (2010), Chandler Holbrook (2009), Rhiannon Bruner (2008)

Hostilo Family Scholarship in History
Presented to an undergraduate from a population that has been historically disadvantaged within the academic field of history

  • 2018: Zakiyya Ellington, sponsored by Kevin Jones

  • 2017: Whitnei Harris, sponsored by Diane Batts Morrow and Jamie Kreiner

  • 2016: Langston Leake, sponsored by Bryan Pitts

  • 2015: Whitney N. Watson, sponsored by Kirk Willis

  • 2014: Eric M. Wilder, sponsored by Ari Levine; and Ashley La Tour, sponsored by Jamie Kreiner

Joe Brown Connally Award
Presented to an outstanding junior who has demonstrated excellence in history and whose interests include Georgia history

  • 2018: David Lawrence, sponsored by Cindy Hahamovitch

  • 2017: Langston Leake, sponsored by Brian Drake

  • 2015: Andrew Brill, sponsored by Montgomery Wolf

  • 2014: Seth Euster, sponsored by Christopher Lawton

  • 2013: Kathryn Veale, sponsored by Kyle Osborn

  • previous recipients: Kiersten Rom (2012), Taylor C. Johnston (2011), Jordan C. Shoemaker (2010), Ashley Cobbs (2009), Sherri Sheu (2008), Michael Arndt (2007), Karen Usselman (2006), Heather Savage (2005)

Phyllis Jenkins Barrow Scholarship
Presented to an outstanding junior history major

  • 2018: Tayjas Rajamaran, sponsored by Oscar Chamosa

  • 2017: Matthew Goldenberg, sponsored by Jennifer Palmer

  • 2015: Leighton Rowell, sponsored by Reinaldo Román

  • 2014: Leah Abigail Scott, sponsored by Steve Soper

  • 2013: Emily Charles, sponsored by Kathleen Clark

  • previous recipients: Tyson Bray (2012), Ashley L. Wilde (2011), Elizabeth F. Wise (2010), Sarah Lowman (2009), Katherine Brackett (2008), Sherri Sheu (2007), William King (2006), Laura Aurore Stewart (2005)

Thomas Pleasant Vincent Sr. Award
Presented to a distinguished undergraduate or graduate student of history with a special interest in the history of Georgia

  • 2018: Sierra Pritchard, sponsored by Steve Berry

  • 2015: C. Wilson Daniel, sponsored by Dr. Pamela Voekel

  • 2013: Anthony Sadler, sponsored by Dr. Brian Drake and Dr. John Inscoe

Warner-Fite Award
Presented to an outstanding graduate or undergraduate student in American/U.S. history

  • 2017: Alexander Garrett, sponsored by Montgomery Wolf

  • 2016: Tytianna Render, sponsored by Robert Pratt

  • 2010: Kathleen D. Pendleton, sponsored by Montgomery Wolf and Ben Ehlers

Oran and Sally Woodall Travel Scholarship
Presented to an undergraduate history major in support of study abroad

  •  2018: Matthew T. Goldenberg, sponsored by Jennifer Palmer; and Kathryn Thomson, sponsored by Kevin Jones