Georgia Writers Hall of Fame Class of 2017 announced

(from the U Georgia/Libraries blog). Please see the link for the article.


 "Established by the University of Georgia Libraries in 2000, the hall seeks to honor Georgia writers past and present.

 “It is always exciting to share the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame judges’ selections each year,” said P. Toby Graham, university librarian and associate provost. “And each year it is our privilege to remind         Georgia readers of the wealth our state’s literary heritage.”

James C. Cobb is the B. Phinizy Spalding Professor of History Emeritus at the University of Georgia, where he has taught since 1997. A former president of the Southern Historical Association, Cobb has    written widely on the interaction among economy, society and culture in the American South. His books include The Selling of The South: The Southern Crusade for Industrial Development, 1936-1990, The Most Southern Place on Earth: The Mississippi Delta and the Roots of Regional Identity and Away Down South: A History of Southern Identity. His most recent book is The South and America Since World War II. Cobb is a frequent contributor to op-ed pages and also a prodigious blogger at

Cobb has earned numerous accolades for writing, research and teaching, including an honorary doctorate in humane letters, Washington and Lee University; the Woodward-Franklin Award for Excellence in Historical Writing, Fellowship of Southern Writers; and the Albert Christ-Janer Award for Excellence in Creative Research.   In 2005, Away Down South: A History of Southern Identity was named a History Book Club Selection and the winner of the Mary Lawton Hodges Prize in Southern Studies, and The Brown Decision, Jim Crow and Southern Identity earned Cobb the Georgia Author of the Year Award in History. Georgia Odyssey is listed as one of the Top 25 Books by Living Georgians by the Georgia Center for the Book. In 1992, Cobb garnered the McClemore Award (Mississippi, History); was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Award (History); the Herbert Hoover Prize (U.S. History); and the Owsley Prize (Southern History) with The Most Southern Place on Earth: The Mississippi Delta and the Roots of Regional Identity."